Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Foreign divorce but UK assets

Posted by metallica 
Foreign divorce but UK assets
October 25, 2019 11:35AM
Hi, I am a British national and resident but my partner is not a British national and no longer a resident in the UK.

We plan to proceed with a divorce in a foreign court where my partner now resides. However I have a property in the UK which is jointly owned and a mortgage in joint names (although I have been paying the full amount for mortgage for a year).

I wanted to understand how can I transfer the property (title) and mortgage in the UK if we do the divorce in the foreign court? Is that possible? Or does the divorce needs to be in UK for the transfer to occur?

The reason being it is cheap and quick to do in the foreign court and my partner is unable to travel to UK anymore.

Regards
Re: Foreign divorce but UK assets
October 25, 2019 11:36AM
Just to add further - we do not have any children and the marriage is for 2 years.
October 27, 2019 11:48AM
You can transfer the title of the property from joint names to your sole name regardless of any divorce if you are both agreed upon that. If you are not agreed upon it then that is a different matter. In that event you would probably find it better to get a divorce in the UK and have the property dealt with in the context of that divorce.
October 28, 2019 07:52AM
Thank you David, understand.

But if my spouse is unable to travel to the UK, that would mean difficulty in instructing a solicitor in the UK or coming to the court to participate in proceedings (if required). Would the UK divorce still go ahead and be feasible ?

Given that all the contributions in the property have been from me and it is a short marriage and no children, from your experience would the court look at contributions or a 50-50 splits.

Regards
October 28, 2019 02:33PM